Eddies Attic - Sept. 2, 2006

Post messages about Ellis Paul shows here.

Moderator: Moderator

bartonegilleland

Eddies Attic - Sept. 2, 2006

Postby bartonegilleland » Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:19 am

Last night's performance makes the third time in twelve months that I've seen Ellis in the same performing space. I had the opportunity to meet and speak briefly with him while he inscribed and autographed his book for my wife (she is thrilled and I am grateful). Ellis has a singular energy, artistic focus, lyricism, and quality that, as a musician myself (in a totally different genre), I admire greatly.
Usually, at Eddie's Attic, Ellis has someone open for him. Last night, though, he performed in the round with Marshall Chapman and Tommy Womack. Eddie's Attic was on fire! Of course, Ellis was in fine form with his intricate, sensitive harmonic construction and lyrics that wrap around you like a childhood blanket. At least equal to the task, though, were Chapman and Womack with each having a "unique" view of life and the world. Chapman was feminine and base at the same time: Chapman is a WOMAN! She exuded a history, a life force that tackled the senses and slapped them around 'til they took notice. And then there was Tommy Womack! This man has a finely tuned superhighway stream-of-consciousness running in his brain. Anger, love, laughter, and tears woven together into a fabric that can hold any man captive. Yes, Ellis was in fine company last night. A splendid musical journey, with a most excellent destination!

Sue Ellen

Postby Sue Ellen » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:42 am

Welcome, and thank you so much for the great review.

Sue Ellen
"...I implore you, I entreat you, I challenge you to speak with conviction, to say what you believe, in a manner that bespeaks the determination with which you believe it, because contrary to the wisdom of the bumper sticker, it is not enough these days to "question" authority, you have to speak with it, too."
Taylor Mali, "Like, You Know?"